Layoffs- Working Inside And Collecting Unemployment

fishingguy1

I'm a 3 year driver am wondering if there are layoffs the contract say we have 2 options.

1)Take a full layoff and collect unemployment, about $550/week but no health insurance.

2)Work inside morning and night at about $12 ($480/week) and keep health insurance.

My question is has anyone choose option 2 and collected unemployment insurance also? Since option 2 is a partial layoff any moneys that are not made by working inside should be able to collect the difference by unemployment.

Example: 40 hours inside at a pay rate of $12 = $480
But since that is less than $550 , $550-$480=$70
So I think $70 can be collected in unemployment that week

I've seen this at other work places but not here at UPS

raceanoncr

Check your state unemployment regulations on that. Each state is different. Here, you can work up to just short of half of what your unemployment would be and you can collect the rest. You work $1 over that amount and you just get the amount you worked, no additional.

One thing to remember, tho, is this: Don't cheat the state or Fed. They will go after you with a vengeance.

UPSGUY72

I know in MA you can make 1/3 of your benefit rate. Above that they take it away from your benifits.

If you got $600 a week in benifits you could make $200 .

But if made $220 you would only get $580 in umeployment benefits.

You should check your state uneployment rules.

I just got layed off today going to start working preload tomorrow since I'm still in my progression I'm only garanteed 3.5 hrs. I should be able to get full benefits while working part time. Probably take home just about the same as I was when working full time.

feederdriver06

former monkey slave
I'm a 3 year driver am wondering if there are layoffs the contract say we have 2 options.

1)Take a full layoff and collect unemployment, about $550/week but no health insurance.