Leave of Absence Question!

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by kevingcp, Jan 3, 2013.

1. kevingcp

kevingcp New Member

I've been working preload since April 2012 and made clear during the hiring process and after that I would be graduating college this coming June 2013. Moreover, I just got invited to go on tour in Europe this August 2013 with a spoken word poet. I would be doing background music and what not. This is us right here:
    Hotel Books - MM/DD/YYYY - YouTube

Anyway, is there any way I can take a 30 day leave of absence for personal reasons? Or would I have to quit and get my job back?

I've made clear that I would like to continue with the company after graduation whether it be corporate or operational management.

I'm going to talk to my center manager and FT/PT supes to explore my options.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kevin

2. Brownslave688

Brownslave688 You want a toe? I can get you a toe.

Uh good luck. This isn't a job u come and go as u please. If u have vacation and option days u could try and burn those days. Otherwise start looking for a new job if u plan on going.

3. barnyard

barnyard KTM rider Staff Member

That is going to be up to your management team, but unless you are 1 heck of a preloader, I would imagine that you will be let go.

4. Amen you dont know what you have...until its gone...then oh well your S.O.L.!!!!

5. serenity now

serenity now Guest

ups is not a warm and fuzzy place to work

6. serenity now

serenity now Guest

be sure and take that audio clip with you when you meet with management to explain why you need the time off :wince:

7. UpstateNYUPSer

UpstateNYUPSer Very proud grandfather.

Enjoy the tour----there are other jobs out there that will be waiting for you when you come back.

8. anonymous4

anonymous4 Active Member