Little Fed Ex Post It notes?

Shifting Contents

Most Help Needed
I am a driver for UPS. Can one of you ground guys please explain to me why I keep seeing Fed Ex post it notes on every package I see? They are the ones that have the days date and that the consignees package was delivered to the front door. What are they and why do they say I delivered to your front door and are stuck to the package at the front door.

Thanks purple people :happy-very:

Ricochet1a

Ground - only Ground does this - had a problem whereas their contracted delivery drivers would leave a package somewhere where the rept. couldn't find it. So FedEx came up with a brilliant solution that required Ground drivers to leave a note - no exceptions - whenever they left a package without obtaining a signature. Well, since about 90% of packages are left right at the front door, you'll see a Ground package sitting next to the front door, with a sticky note on the door indicating where the package is located, 90% of the time sitting next to the front door. Since FedEx has come not to trust the judgment of the contracted delivery drivers, it has resorted to this measure.

If they would've simply required a note to be left on the front door when the package WASN'T left next to the front door, that would've made sense. Since FedEx was getting flooded with calls from customers asking where their packages were, they decided to take a shotgun solution to a minor problem and require notes for all residential deliveries w/o signatures obtained. I'm sure if a Ground driver releases a package at a residential address without leaving a note, it would constitute some sort of service failure on their part and their contractor would be penalized - speculating here.