long time full time drivers

would like to know if across the country if full time express drivers (20-25-30) year employees are having a hard time getting 40 hours a week?

never in my career with this company have we ever hired this many employees to the point that I cant get even get a 40 hour work week. Just trying to figure what is going on and is this across the board?

dezguy

I'm good up here in the great white North. Haven't been below 40 hours in a few years now.

Edit: I'm a 15ish year vet so don't know if I count. :p

MrFedEx

Engorged Member
never in my career with this company have we ever hired this many employees to the point that I cant get even get a 40 hour work week. Just trying to figure what is going on and is this across the board?

My station just hired around 50, and they have announced that OT is going away. My guess is that 40 of them will quit, and the other 10 can do 5 SPH. It's just pathetic.

Artee

They are hiring lots of handlers at the stations around here. They don't want the couriers coming in for the sort and helping to unload at night. Cutting their hours that way right now. One of the managers I talk to can't believe they are hiring so many handlers. He doesn't have anything for them to do on the PM and wants them shifted to the AM. They are killing his hours report and in turn getting his butt chewed from the Senior.

At our RT they are hiring more part time drivers even though we don't have enough work for the full time ones. They sent two full timers home last night with them only working 4 hours each. Paying them minimums for the week. But lets hire more drivers...LOL Stupid.

Still able to get 40+ hours here. They keep hiring, but we are always understaffed.