Maine Layoffs

Crowldog

Here's my story...

I'm a full-time driver with a seniority date of 7/5/06. I made my full progression January 5, 2009. (2 1/2 years). Yesterday (Friday) I was notified along with 4 others from our Metro Sup that we are laid off and "bumped" inside. The metro sup then asked who will be working the pre-load and/or local sort? My response was, "you owe us friend/t drivers (out of progression), 8 straight hours. No response. I sent another message similiar. Their response, "we're offering only morning and night shifts to get your guaranteed 8 hours". I responded again with the "8 straight" entitlement. My cell rang...my metro sup! "I've been reading through the contract, we don't owe you 8 straight. We guarantee you 8 hours...but you were hired AFTER 1993, therefor you are not entitled to 8 straight."

I then contacted my steward..."they're wrong" he said. So myself, along with the other 4, have filed grievences for working 8 straight hours. As we return to the building, our steward tells us...we'll fight for 8 straight, until then do what they ask. That's fine...we all can play the game. So...we all booked into the pre-load then local-sort to get our 8 hours.