Mechanics Forced Overtime. When Is This Going To Stop? Never.

olroadbeech

Happy Verified UPSer
mechanics at my hub are being forced to work overtime or face termination. just like I said in my forced day after thanksgiving thread, this is never going to end unless we stand up and put a stop to it.

UPS can always hire more people. yes, in feeder we can be worked til directed for 60 hours a week. I understand that.

but what about mechanics? do they also have HOS _( hrs of service ) regulations to follow? I don't think so but they should.

I told my mechanic I didn't want him to be working on my tractor if he was too tired. I am not a mechanic but even an expert pretrip would not catch a bolt that wasn't tightened or many other life threatening things that only a mechanic or DOT inspector may find.

I told him that he was too tired to work overtime he should just tell his supervisor that and go home.

ive used that excuse maybe 5-6 times in 30 years. they didn't argue with me.

PT Car Washer

Our mechanics have to be CDL qualified and I am sure they would fall under HOS rules. We have one night guy out on disability and the trailer shop guy is milking it for all he can get. Other then that I don't think the rest are getting much OT if any at all. Mechanics can pick up side work all year round if they want extra cash. Tax free.

olroadbeech

Happy Verified UPSer
Our mechanics have to be CDL qualified and I am sure they would fall under HOS rules. We have one night guy out on disability and the trailer shop guy is milking it for all he can get. Other then that I don't think the rest are getting much OT if any at all. Mechanics can pick up side work all year round if they want extra cash. Tax free.
that a good point. if they are cdl quailed by rule , then they would have the same HOS as us. that would help.

Wally

BrownCafe Innovator & King of Puns
How much OT we talking about?

I would get on the creeper, slide under, and take a nap.

Cementups

Box Monkey