Missing the $0.12 COLA! When does it kick in?

xaero001

i'm a PT insider/Air-Cover Driver and in this weeks check I noticed the $0.425 raise but not the $0.12 COLA that I thought would be in there.... Any ideas why? Is Upstate NY not getting this?

xaero001

You sure? Full timers Voted on sched E with loss of Raises till next contract, Part timers voted on sched C to keep raises but move retirement to 63 or 65

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Either:
  • You're not seeing it on your pay because it's been diverted towards your benefits.
  • You're still in progression, and won't get it until you've completed progression.
  • It's a mistake.
Check your union bulletin board @ work for any relevant postings, or with your steward or union business agent/rep.

xaero001

I just double checked with the Local Sort shift I'm with when not air/cover driving and they also got the $0.425 but not $0.12.
Will have to check with steward but he never got the paperwork other stewards got about any sorta of a Cola.

xaero001

Nope my seniority date was Oct 12, 2007, I hit the old contract when the benefits were quick and my inside pay is based off that contract. Driver wise I didn't touch a package car till 2008 and am on the new contract Air/Cover Guidelines for that.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Nope my seniority date was Oct 12, 2007, I hit the old contract when the benefits were quick and my inside pay is based off that contract. Driver wise I didn't touch a package car till 2008 and am on the new contract Air/Cover Guidelines for that.

Well then, as I read the COLA language, you might get the $0.12 on or about Oct. 12, 2011 (assuming that the schedule C you referenced provides that it does go towards your pay, and not benefits) for your Local Sort work. Article 22.5 a & b are a masterpiece of contrived, confusing language.
The $0.12 should apply to your Air/Cover rates on the date you complete those progressions.

JonFrum