Moving from PT Package Handler to Package delivery driver queston.

Legitimyze

I know the wait time varies between each location and I am really new at UPS. So it will be a long wait. But how does it work exactly? If there are 15 other people that were there before me that want the job, I have to wait for them to become drivers before I get a chance? And anyone that comes in after has to wait for me to advance?

I heard they will bring out a sign up sheet for it? Do I have to wait for them to announce it or do I just ask about it and get my name on it ASAP?

aiian

Yes, seniority works as you described but remember those 15 guys might not be eligible to drive, want to drive, know where the bid sheet is, etc.

The bid (sign up) sheets should always be posted in the same spot.

Make a habit of checking for new bid sheets regularly.

Even if you're not the highest seniority guy sign it anyway.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Some areas don't post bid sheets to sign for package delivery driver. You have to go to HR to have your name put on the list (& the list may expire every year).

By The Book

Do people normally move from package handlers to package delivery drivers? Or is there usually a step in between?
In a perfect world you would be a Saturday driver for a while, maybe 6 months to 2 years. This would be in addition to your part time work. This way when you are the highest seniority part timer in your bldg. who gets their chance at a fulltime driving job you will be familiar with how it works.

Shep92

I too want to become a package delivery driver but I only got a year and 4 months under my belt so I still got a ways to go. I'm hoping to be a delivery helper during peak so that will give me some experience.

you aint even know it

Well-Known Troll
Troll
It sucks how they constantly hire off the street full time drivers in (nyc)