Moving from UPS driver to FedEX driver. Need help!

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by zuma76, Aug 31, 2016.

1. zuma76

zuma76 New Member

Hi guys.

I have been driving for 2 years as a TCD. I love the job, but thinking about making the move to FedEx because of the guaranteed permanent position. I am in my late 30s and HATE having to go inside during the free periods (Sept-Oct, and Jan-June). I don't know if the permanent position is coming soon or in 10 years.

I've spoken to some people at FedEx and they all tell me how much they need drivers and I've learned you get hired as permanent. I want to make the change, but also very nervous that I am making a mistake. There are obviously pros and cons to each place. My main issues are:

Benefits
    Family time with my 3 kids
    Being permanent

This is a nightly discussion with my wife and I keep going back and forth. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

2. Operational needs

Operational needs Well-Known Member

Don't do it. The benefits at Fedex suck, supposedly it will take you ten years to reach top pay at Fedex which will be less than $30, and the pension is a joke. Job is easier though and the management/hourly relationship is a lot better.

3. wide load

wide load Well-Known Member

How much will you make?

4. zuma76

zuma76 New Member

The money to me isn't important. My wife has a good job. FedEx tops out around the low 60s. My friend has worked there for 17 years and that's what he makes. You start off a little higher than UPS $20, opposed to $18.75.

Please keep in mind that I am not really willing to go inside the building every year for 6 months and make $10 an hour. That's what you have to do during non peak. My main thing is to be hired permanent.

Also FedEx you go in earlier around 7:45 and get out much earlier. Having 3 little kids, that is very important to me.

Both jobs have ups and downs like I said. Weighing it out I think for me FedEx is a better fit.

5. Cementups