Moving from UPS driver to FedEX driver. Need help!

zuma76

Hi guys.

I have been driving for 2 years as a TCD. I love the job, but thinking about making the move to FedEx because of the guaranteed permanent position. I am in my late 30s and HATE having to go inside during the free periods (Sept-Oct, and Jan-June). I don't know if the permanent position is coming soon or in 10 years.

I've spoken to some people at FedEx and they all tell me how much they need drivers and I've learned you get hired as permanent. I want to make the change, but also very nervous that I am making a mistake. There are obviously pros and cons to each place. My main issues are:

Benefits
Family time with my 3 kids
Being permanent

This is a nightly discussion with my wife and I keep going back and forth. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Operational needs

Virescit Vulnere Virtus
Hi guys.

I have been driving for 2 years as a TCD. I love the job, but thinking about making the move to FedEx because of the guaranteed permanent position. I am in my late 30s and HATE having to go inside during the free periods (Sept-Oct, and Jan-June). I don't know if the permanent position is coming soon or in 10 years.

I've spoken to some people at FedEx and they all tell me how much they need drivers and I've learned you get hired as permanent. I want to make the change, but also very nervous that I am making a mistake. There are obviously pros and cons to each place. My main issues are:

Benefits
Being permanent

This is a nightly discussion with my wife and I keep going back and forth. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Don't do it. The benefits at Fedex suck, supposedly it will take you ten years to reach top pay at Fedex which will be less than $30, and the pension is a joke. Job is easier though and the management/hourly relationship is a lot better.

zuma76