New coverage driver in about 4-6weeks

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by TheKingOfQueens, Jun 24, 2014.

1. I'll be a full time coverage driver in about 4-6 weeks . I know the best way to deliver the packages is by using a map but I'm not good at reading the map and I'm basically depending on my garmin to help me out . Would I be able to come in extra extra early to input the stops in my garmin because I know that'll take up a lot of time if I wait until I start my shift . Any pointers on learning how to read the map ? Help !!!!!

Sent using BrownCafe App
    Lasted edited by : Jun 24, 2014
  2. sortaisle

sortaisle Livin the cardboard dream'll make much more sense when you look at your EDD or ORION list and then a map book. You'll see all the streets clumped together on the map book page and it'll start the gears turning. Practice makes perfect. There isn't a driver in our center that has made book using GPS exclusively. The map book is far superior for resis.
  3. cosmo1

cosmo1 Just another internet hooligan.

How in the name of everything holy did we learn routes(especially rural routes) in those dark days before GPS?
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  4. Must have been those "fancy pagers" we had!
  5. sortaisle

sortaisle Livin the cardboard dream

It took a special type of wizard who are born few and far between to make the magic of mapping happen. You my friend...are a rare wizard.
  6. Fedex Guy

Fedex Guy Active Member

Jesus dude, don't make the job harder than it already is. Only thing you can do is work safe and just learn the routes. Usually the stops are close to each other. Punching every stop in a garmin is prob not the best idea.

Just to be clear, I don't work for FedEx. Crazy I know.
  7. Dr.Brownz

Dr.Brownz Well-Known Member