New feeder driver (Addison IL)

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by roron85, Sep 7, 2015.

1. roron85

roron85 New Member

Hello all. I have an "appointment" tomorrow at the Addison location for a feeder driver position. (SEASONAL)

Which brings up my first question. Is this an interview? Will I be in a room with a bunch of other people that applied? Should I bring my resume? Do I dress up? Just need clarification since it's just called an "appointment."

Do feeder drivers haul containers, vans, triples/doubles? I've been doing containers as an O/O for the last 5 years and I can honestly say I love doing them. I have double/triple endorsement but have never done it, will they make me go through a training for that?

Looks like the position is starting at night. I was used to starting at 4-6AM but I'm open minded on doing it and it helps I only live 10 minutes down the road. Since it's seasonal, do they usually keep some the drivers after the season? I own 2 trucks so I can continue doing that after the season if they don't. UPS is the only company I see is worth being a company driver for.

What's the approximate pay starting from the bottom? I hope I can net 1,500/week, but I can live off 1,000 since I will have income coming in from my other truck that I will have running.

Thanks in advance and I would appreciate further feedback.

2. DOK

DOK Active Member

I have no idea to most of what you're asking but I would say dress up. Seasonal usually indicates just for the holidays but they do keep on or call back the seasonals that do a good job. A top pay feeder driver makes around $100k, but that's after you've gone through the wage progression, good luck!

3. silenze

silenze Lunch is the best part of the day

The summer seasonal period just ended. The winter seasonal period starts November 1
    I would bring your resume and any documents but also wear something you can do a road test in, ie Work boots.