New to FedEx Express - Seniority Rules

FedExNW

My question first: I'm new to FedEx but am older (early 30s and in midst of career change), very determined, ensuring I am a top performer (attendance, scans, everything) etc., and want to move up FASTER than average. How do I get around the seniority/points rules? It seems like so many people just try to get by doing the bare minimum. I would love to be a courier - at least for now. I always hear I'll have to wait a few years - I refuse to fall for that and wait that long. I'm hoping to get back to the ($15-$20 full-time) range within the next year. Around 15 years ago, my sister's husband quit his bartender job in Anchorage, became a handler at UPS and then a driver in less than a year.

Background: I've been working as a Handler at a FedEx ramp for a few months. I have a solid background, but decided to leave the office environment to go after more of a passion - aviation/driving. I've found that I love it here and love the company. I make less money, but am much happier with life and going to work.

I'm trying to do all the little things and be a top performer consistently. It's a little surprising how many have the attitude that they just want to get through the shift and their minds are just elsewhere. Many of them are younger, though, and I can relate. It takes us time to find our calling.

Being that I'm in myearly 30s, I want to move up in this company FASTER than average...much faster. I actually bid for a driver positiion on JCats and was the only bidder until the last day it was posted. I was told they might make an exception for me even though I'm under 6 months. A few others (drivers) applied at the last hours. I was told that even if I had more seniority, drivers always get picked first. That makes sense.

Last edited:

dezguy