non-permanent Bid bumping

Crtlndyppie

I am a driver with 21 years senority. Recently a driver with 24 years seniority bid on a route next to mine which they now break out on Mondays and Fridays. He is following the 5-10 stops (it's a 4 way split) I get from him to bump me. My problem is that I've been told by the Union and the Company that after the bump I have to work as directed, which for all purposes makes like a low seniority swing driver. The contract covers pemanent change of operations but not temporary. I can't believe after 25 years over all seniority and 21 driving and 10 on my bid route this is the case. I feel the Union which I have no problems with has thrown me under the bus if they have agreed to this! Anyone have any Ideas?

Jones

fILE A GRIEVE!
Staff member
I am a driver with 21 years senority. Recently a driver with 24 years seniority bid on a route next to mine which they now break out on Mondays and Fridays. He is following the 5-10 stops (it's a 4 way split) I get from him to bump me. My problem is that I've been told by the Union and the Company that after the bump I have to work as directed, which for all purposes makes like a low seniority swing driver. The contract covers pemanent change of operations but not temporary. I can't believe after 25 years over all seniority and 21 driving and 10 on my bid route this is the case. I feel the Union which I have no problems with has thrown me under the bus if they have agreed to this! Anyone have any Ideas?
What supplement are you under? My first question would be, if your supplement only covers permanent changes then how is this guy being allowed to bump you? Shouldn't he be the one in cover?

UPSGUY72