Outside Hires

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by Dagoof, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Dagoof

Dagoof Member

Just wondering just how many of the drivers here were outside hires?
    Or when was the last one hired in your center?

I was a peak driver that drove peak in 85 got layed off came back in 86 drove again was layed off News Years eve and told to be back on monday Jan 3 stupid me showed up on Monday (LOL) and as they say the rest is history
  3. UpstateNYUPSer

UpstateNYUPSer Very proud grandfather.

I was hired off the street May 1989.
  4. Dookiebrowns

Dookiebrowns Member

I did the Christmas peak in 2006, and was hired in April 2007.
  5. 3 done 3 to go

3 done 3 to go In control of my own destiny

I was a outside hire in '88. Finally full time Nov '98. Only get credit of only 10 yrs now for vacation.
  6. UpstateNYUPSer

UpstateNYUPSer Very proud grandfather.

You have received 21+ years of paychecks so I wouldn't complain.
  7. tarbar66

tarbar66 Member

And you are a Steeler fan so everything in your life is good!
  8. tracker2762

tracker2762 Active Member

I applied for helper job peak '84 but I didn't get the job. Then applied for driver a couple weeks later and worked peak. I was laid off Dec 26 and called back Jan 2. Been there ever since.
  9. brownrodster

brownrodster New Member

Our last one was winter '06, IIRC. Last one before that was mid 90's I think. We've also had several supervisors become drivers over the years. Couldn't say when, though.

A couple years ago one of our peak drivers was offered a driver job in a nearby center. He turned them down :greedy::greedy:
    He was a graduate student. But his major was something dumb that would never get him a job making half of what a UPS driver makes. He didn't take the job because he didn't want to drive 25 miles away to the other UPS center that needed more drivers.

I heard a rumor that a guy with a PHD in poly sci is eyeballing our next off the street driver job.
  10. over9five