Package driver test

Bojak

Been working as a package handler for 3 years and finally got the call to take the driving test. Been practicing driving manual again for about 2-3 weeks and was wondering how different is it from driving a small sports car to a package car.

p228

The gears seem much farther apart in the package car than a sports car. I had been driving a car with a manual transmission for five years yet the first time I drove a package car I grinded the gears shifting into second. I was so used to the close gears in my car. Shifting into second in the PC was like shifting into fifth in my car. Just practice moving the shifter around when the PC is off to get used to the distance it travels.

The shift pattern is different also:

R-2-4
1-3-5

NHDRVR

If you can drive a stick you will be fine it's the least of your worries.

No kidding... I thought the actual driving part was going to be the hardest and after the 1st day I saw it was the least of my worries.

Bojak, focus on learning your area and how the load is (supposed to be) set up. Between that and the DIAD you won't have time to think about shifting. You will go on auto-pilot soon ehough...

BrownArmy

Thanks for all the tips. One more question, do I have to learn how to double clutch?

Don't start trying to pop wheelies just yet...

Like the others said, if you can drive a stick-shift car, you're 80% there. There are several types of manual transmission stick-shift package cars in the UPS fleet (see gear patterns above), and yes the spacing is definitely further apart between gears than on a small sports car.

What may be a little trickier than plain shifting is key use of the emergency/parking brake. During the driver test, you will likely be asked to demonstrate starting the package car on an incline with the emergency brake employed.

Just like the small sports car, starting on an incline or hill in a package car is a little trickier than on flat ground.