Preloader looking to take driving job

Backache41

Hi, I'm a long time viewer first time poster on here. I have been preloading for 4 1/2 years now and am thinking about taking a part time air driving job. Can anyone explain to me the pay rate and pay progression? I make $13.22 now part time preloading. Just wondering what type of money the hours that I can expect would be. Thanks.

Livin the Dream?

Disillusioned UPSer
Hmmm.....4.5 years of being over worked, under paid, treated worse than a dog. Regardless of what they pay you, you will prosper as a driver.

brownrodster

Hi, I'm a long time viewer first time poster on here. I have been preloading for 4 1/2 years now and am thinking about taking a part time air driving job. Can anyone explain to me the pay rate and pay progression? I make $13.22 now part time preloading. Just wondering what type of money the hours that I can expect would be. Thanks.

What kind of air?

I think air progression is 2 years and tops out around 22-23$ an hour.

What you actually do would be drastically different in each center. There are EAM drivers who deliver NDA packages after their preload shift. How much they work would be dependent on the commit times and mileage you drive. There are afternoon Air shuttle drivers who pick up air from drivers or buisnesses and bring them to the airport. There are saturday air drivers who deliver packages on Saturday.

YOu would need to talk to someone in your center to get more specific information. I am surprised that after 4.5 years there you don't already know all this.

JonFrum

Article 40 - Air Operation
Section 6. Wages
All hourly wages for employees covered under Article 40 will be determined in accordance with this Section, Article 22 and Article 41 where specified.

a. Part-time air drivers including exception air drivers will be paid as follows:
Start $11.50
Seniority $12.50
Seniority Date plus 12 months $13.00
Seniority Date plus 18 months $13.50
Seniority Date plus 24 months Top Rate