Pros and Cons of going to Feeders.....????!!!!!!

MaceFremonti

Full time driver in downtown Washington D.C. for 20 years. I have SERIOUSLY been considering signing the next Feeder bid list when it is posted. The workload on every route in our center has been increased by almost 50% compared to a few years ago. The missloads, missroutes, DFUs, bad time studies, telematics, and all the other Service Provider b.s. that happens everyday has become too much.

The only downside I can see at the moment is that overtime is actually OVERTIME. What I mean is I am a bonus driver. My route HAS to be done before 5:00 since it is all commercial. A paid 10 hour day for me is the guaranteed 8 pay and 2 hours of bonus time. A 10 hour day in feeders is exactly that.

So ffor those of you who have made the switch what are the pros and cons?

Happy Holidays!

wo88upsman

Just went to feeders after 25+ years in package car. Wow what a difference! I am on a Peak run right now that runs a daytime route but first of year will be going to a night run fulltime because on of our drivers is retiring. But wish I would have done this years ago you have to learn to slow down to a whole different pace, not near as much stress and a lot less physical work.

Old International

Now driving a Sterling
No, thats 8 hours of regular pay, and 2 hours of OT. Of course, you arn't getting paid on your way home, like on a bonus run. But then again, you won't be getting in and out of your seat 400 times a day either. Plus, feeders have A/C and good heaters, nice seats, power steering, and you can run a radio of your own choosing.

1) You`ll be junior so expect the worst choices in start times.
2) Those start times might actually work for you depending on your life/family schedules.
3) You touched on it. Hours are hours, no paid bonus.
4) You`ll be covered by the DOT hour rules so 60 is the max, hell or high water.
5) You`ll never have an easier peak than one in feeder.