Question About Getting Hired

dimsum2013

I recently applied to UPS because I found out they were hiring part-time package handlers. When I reached the end of the application I was taken directly to a page where I scheduled an appointment for a group tour at night. I showed up, dressed how I was told to dress, etc and the HR manager led the tour. He seemed very chill and gave the impression that as long as we said we could do the job we would likely get the job. At the end of the tour he asked us which shift wed prefer and scheduled us for a second interview automatically later that week. I showed up to that one too, talked to the HR manager again and after some basic questions about whether I can do the work and etc he told me they would be calling people when they found out exactly how many people they needed, and it would be approx 1-2 weeks. It is also worth noting that I have no job experience which seems like it won't be a dealbreaker based on how they reacted to that information.

So here are my questions. Do you think it is likely I will get hired? It sounded like they would hire you as long as you showed up to the interviews, dressed appropriately, and were ready to work, but I also got the impression again that it is based on how many people they need so if they have more applicants than necessary will they only hire a lucky few randomly or will they hire as many as possible thinking a few will quit anyway? And my last question is in regards to seasonal hiring. I believe they said if you are hired after May 1st you will be seasonal and can be rehired if you do well and they need you, and if you are hired before May 1st it will be permanent? Did I get that right? Thank you.

Bagels

Family Leave Fridays!!!