Question about our 401k options....

Im a full time driver and would love to be able to transfer my money to a Roth IRA. I know all the steps involved but Im curious as to if anybody has actually done it before?

401k--to--Rollover IRA
Rollover IRA--to--Rollover Roth IRA (paying taxes in the meantime)

Then your home?

Anybody???

Paul

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Im a full time driver and would love to be able to transfer my money to a Roth IRA. I know all the steps involved but Im curious as to if anybody has actually done it before?

401k--to--Rollover IRA

Then your home?

Anybody???

Paul

I am not 100% positive but I don't think you can touch your 401k money until you are 59 1/2. To do so before will cost you a 10% penalty and 20% toward taxes. Once you reach 59 1/2, you should then be able to do what you had talked about with no problem.

drewed

Shankman
I am not 100% positive but I don't think you can touch your 401k money until you are 59 1/2. To do so before will cost you a 10% penalty and 20% toward taxes. Once you reach 59 1/2, you should then be able to do what you had talked about with no problem.

I think he'll have to pay the taxes on it but not get penalized since hes rolling into another account and not using the money...

The Mook

I cashed in to "buy" a new house. Got my check then............. the deal fell through. OOPS. Got the documents at Office Max to buy the property. Now I pay back my 401 k at a fast pace ( no penalty ) and socked money elsewhere. Just a thought. It is your money.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I cashed in to "buy" a new house. Got my check then............. the deal fell through. OOPS. Got the documents at Office Max to buy the property. Now I pay back my 401 k at a fast pace ( no penalty ) and socked money elsewhere. Just a thought. It is your money.