Question about transferring...

Saxton

Here is my question, I have been working as a PT pre-loader now for 3 years. Three months ago I was sent to driver school. This school was at a different Hub than the one I work at. While there I found out this Hub is in need a lot of drivers. During my time in school I was asked to transfer to that hub as this would allow me to drive basically right away. I said I would think about it, reason is this Hub is 50 miles one-way from where I live.

After returning from school, I talk to the driver Sup about running Sat. or Utility. I was informed that I would not even be a on-call person since I had so many people above me. I then asked about when they thought I was going to able to drive at all. I was told it could still be 2-3 years in my current Hub before I could drive. That's not to say I would not get a random Utility run from time to time with vacations and sick calls.

So after finding out this information, I contacted my HR guy and informed him I was interested in transferring to the Hub I went to school at to be a FT driver. At this point he informed me I cannot transfer to become a driver as I am currently a PT pre-loader. I would have to transfer and work PT for at least 6 months before I would be asked to drive. This came as a kind of shock to me as when I was asked the first time, I was advised by 2 different people that if I transferred, I would transfer to become a full time driver right away. While in school I found out this Hub had people in driver class with less than 5 months and they exhausted there bid list. Not to mention out of the 20 drivers that passed the class before mine, 18 washed out/failed during their 30 day period. Just a few weeks ago I heard this Hub was hiring drivers from outside the Hub. I really don't understand what that last part means.