Question for Shop Stewards and (maybe) Management

code42

I have seen one of the stewards ( who's new to it ) trying to battle management over 1 driver that is layed off. The driver gets 8 hours in either preload, or local sort. Why would he fight to get them back in driving so hard? He writes the sups for shuttling packages, and is always trying to ask employees if management shuttled them anything and the times and dates. Is he getting paid for that? Sometimes the driver gets to work, and sometimes not. Today the driver came to work but was told there was no work and to come back tonight to unload. He filed for 8 hours for them to get paid. I am new to UPS and was wondering if this steward was going overboard or not. I don't want to be represented by a guy that management hates ( should the day come ) How does management react to these grievances, and would you file them?

jimstud

Banned
first of all how do think ups feels about money for nothing? 2nd do you think management should be doing teamster work with one of your brothers laid off? 3rd the driver that is laid off makes more per hour driving than on the morning or twi shift. sounds like your stewatd is doing right by his people i would rather have my steward hated by management than be in bed with them.

UPSNewbie

Sounds like a steward that actually does his job. I'd be impressed if any of the stewards at my old center would ask about sups working. It's what I get for being in the reddest state. No one cares here.

3HrsOverAllowed