Question regarding dues...

IzzyTheNose

I'm new to UPS, and one thing I remember our HR rep. specifically stating during the hiring process, was how small our checks would be ($8.50, yadda yadda, union dues, taxes, yadda yadda).

I noticed no such deductions other than standard tax withholdings. What gives?

I was never told during the hiring process that I was being brought on as a seasonal package handler.

Can I expect to see these deductions down the line? Also, assuming I was hired as a seasonal package handler, what are the chances I'll be kept on? I realize this might be impossible for you folks to answer, seeing as you have no idea how high volume is in our hub. But I've hit 23.5 and 26.5 hours my first two weeks after training.

If volume doesn't drop too drastically after peak, will they keep me on? Or do they have to let me go because I'm a seasonal employee?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Covemastah

Hoopah drives the boat Chief !!
I'm new to UPS, and one thing I remember our HR rep. specifically stating during the hiring process, was how small our checks would be ($8.50, yadda yadda, union dues, taxes, yadda yadda).

I was never told during the hiring process that I was being brought on as a seasonal package handler.

Can I expect to see these deductions down the line? Also, assuming I was hired as a seasonal package handler, what are the chances I'll be kept on? I realize this might be impossible for you folks to answer, seeing as you have no idea how high volume is in our hub. But I've hit 23.5 and 26.5 hours my first two weeks after training.

If volume doesn't drop too drastically after peak, will they keep me on? Or do they have to let me go because I'm a seasonal employee?