Question

crxbrad

I do not work at UPS but I want to. I have a construction labor job right now that is going NOWHERE!! I'm interested to know how most of you got on w/UPS and where you started. There are all kinds of part time handlers jobs here locally but, I am making bout $15hr at my job right now. Only thing is I have absolutely no benefits, lots of stress, and not enough work. So, I'm lookin to get on w/UPS. Looks like they have good benefits and decent pay to start out. Looks like I'd like to be a driver of some sort. Probly not tractor trailor driver but a van(big or small) would be fine.
Can I just jump in and be a driver?
My names Brad
Thanks in advance for your answers and suggestions.
:happy2:

jer

I'm very new with UPS, but it seems like getting on as a driver right from the jump is pretty tough to come by, unless you know someone.
There are guys in my hub that have been waiting 3 years to get the chance.

Good luck bro. I made the switch from constuction myself. It was time to make a career move.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Our contract requires that a minimum number of inside employees be promoted to driver before any outside hire--in my region this ratio is 6 insiders for every 1 outsider. When I was hired off the street as a driver in 1989 the ratio was 3 to 1. It took my 11 months to get my seniority--today the wait can be 5 years or more. The wait for an insider to be promoted to driver will vary from region to region depending upon whether you are in area of growth or decline. My preloader is currently awaiting a call to go to the corrections academy as he is #14 on the list to be promoted and simply cannot wait that long to become a driver. So, if he is #14, that means he would have to wait for 13 insiders and 2 outsiders to go driving before he does, which means he is actually #16 and could be looking at close to 10 years.

The best way to become a driver is to start on the inside and work your way up. Good luck.

klein

Für Meno :)