Question

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by JawGAboi, Oct 5, 2015.

1. JawGAboi

JawGAboi New Member

I'm a full-time cover driver and so is this other driver. The other driver has more seniority. They bid on a route where the regular FT driver is gone on vacation for 4 weeks. The other driver won the bid for the entire time the regular driver is on vacation. One day there was a new preloader that loaded their car and it was blown out. I wasn't extra this day. That driver then comes to me and tells me I'm running that route and they are going home. What are the rules on all that? They bid on that route, so now that it's not an easy day you don't want it. All the shop Stewart says or showed me was: Seniority prevails at all times. So the time I'm on a route and I don't like it, I can just find someone with less seniority and make them run it?!

Last edited: Oct 5, 2015
  2. oldngray

oldngray nowhere special

huh.jpg

3. MyTripisCut

MyTripisCut Well-Known Member

I was always told seniority gives you the right to work, not the right to go home. However, it always seems to still work both ways until you are the senior person. Capece?

4. BrownBrokeDown

BrownBrokeDown Active Member

Southern has some wording about seniority comes into play as long as it doesnt monetarily affect UPS. Article is somewhere in the 40's. Im too lazy right now to look it up and copy it over.

5. Shifting Contents

Shifting Contents Most Help Needed

The last line in the seniority section states "seniority will prevail in all matters not covered in this agreement"

6. Wally

Wally Hailing from Parts Unknown.

Have lots of send agains and CNL's on the out of the way stuff.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  7. PT Car Washer

PT Car Washer Well-Known Member