Question

Black

I was hired in August of 06' as a seasonal/Casual driver. During my stay I worked hard and never complained. During the last few weeks of peak I was told numerous times by management I would be rehired full-time after the new year. I work on Saturday, December 23rd and my manager told me once again I would be returning sometime next year as a full-time driver. It's now the end of February and I'm still waiting to hear from UPS. I'm able to collect unemployment so I'm not concerned about an income but would like to get back to work. Just wondering when does UPS usually call back rehireies? How long does it usually take? I understand there is a ratio of how many outsiders compared to part-times that can be hired. I worked in a busy hub in Northern New Jersey and was even told by my shop steward they will probably be rehireing 3 from the outside this year. I'm hoping someone can shed some light on this matter. Thanks

stealth8

Black,
I worked as a peak temp driver and was not called back until April, but that was 27yrs ago. Make sure that you still keep in contact, so they know that you are still interested in coming back.
They just brought back one of the drivers we used for Christmas this week. A lot of it thought depends upon volume in your area. Good Luck!!

The ratio is 6 to 1. For every 6 inside hourlies hired for a FT driver job, UPS is allowed 1 off the street hire/ or supervisor. In my hub the last off the street hire was over 12-15 yrs ago. The 1 off the street hire has been a pt supe. Black just be thankful and appreciative if you do get the job because you are going to the front of the line over pt's who have been busting their ass waiting for their turn in seniority to have that job. Good luck

over9five

Staff member
"my manager told me once again I would be returning sometime next year as a full-time driver."