Quitting; unused vacation time (it's interesting, I promise)

omgwtfbbqcopter

Howdy all,

I'm a feeder driver who has decided to end my employment with UPS next year. It's simply not for me. I came in off the street and have no other time with the company previous to my feeder seniority date.

What's interesting is that my anniversary date with the company is the same day as the expiration of the lease on my apartment. I planned to quit a week before the cross country move, but after reading my contract book it states that I would be paid for any unused vacation days.

If I were to find temporary housing and continue to work past my anniversary date, then say quit a week later, would I be paid for my full unused vacation or is that opening up a can of worms? I'd have 2 weeks "in the bank" at that point.

If I notified my management of my intentions to quit a few weeks in advance of my anniversary date, could they put a stop to my unused vacation check? Would they, at that point, find something to fire me for before that date to prevent me from collecting the vacation check?

I can't stay a month past my anniversary date, but I'd not want to pass up $1,500 (or whatever 90 hours is) extra...

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Don't say anything to UPS until you have had a chance to talk to your landlord. Ask him if he has a new tenant lined up and if he doesn't ask him if you could stay for a week or two beyond the end of the lease.

You could always schedule those two weeks and then hand in your resignation.

3 done 3 to go

In control of own destiny
Yes. You are entitled to your unused vacations. But, they may only grant them to you on the weeks that you bid on. Hopefully you have direct deposits. Otherwise you will have to depend on them to mail your check to you. Which could end up with more headaches. Good for you to see that UPS isn't for you. Good luck

olroadbeech

Happy Verified UPSer