Respect to old timers

TooTechie

Geek in Brown
I just wanted to say I have a new found respect for the drivers who have been doing it for decades. My truck was red tagged and I came in to a 1989 GMC 800 today. I could get used to the high ass step, having to punch the bulkhead door at every stop to open it, bogging down to a crawl on hills in any gear; dealing with the transmission and break not holding on hills, the annoying cargo light that turns the cab light on too...etc but having to wrestle that manual steering all day long....I dont know how you guys did it for all these years. Much respect!

cosmo1

Perhaps.
Staff member
1989 qualifies as "Old Timer"? Wow, wonder where that puts me? (started in 73)

​Shoot, I guess I'm still a newbie. Started in 1978. First truck I ran was a 1960-something Ford. You actually had to stand up to get enough leverage to turn it at slow speeds!

S

serenity now

I just wanted to say I have a new found respect for the drivers who have been doing it for decades. My truck was red tagged and I came in to a 1989 GMC 800 today. I could get used to the high ass step, having to punch the bulkhead door at every stop to open it, bogging down to a crawl on hills in any gear; dealing with the transmission and break not holding on hills, the annoying cargo light that turns the cab light on too...etc but having to wrestle that manual steering all day long....I dont know how you guys did it for all these years. Much respect!

you just described a normal workday, but mine does have power steering *
and thanks for the respect; i'm 60, and out there giving my best everyday *

union4life

1989 qualifies as "Old Timer"? Wow, wonder where that puts me? (started in 73)
Wow! When I started, we had one old car that had small wooden shelves that you could fold up and the three pedals were little 3" round rubber stops on what seemed to be a 12" high stick. Did you drive those type?

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.