ride alongs

lvgolfer962

sorry in advance for the long post

im a utility driver and i tried to file a 9.5 last month and was told that i cant because i dont have a route and they cant adjust the route everyday just for me. so for the last month ive been actually taking my lunches and breaks instead of working through them like ive always done. so instead of beating routes im getting beat. i show up tuesday and the sup "says lets go" so im like what going on here?, (sup) your getting 3 day ride. so whatever i play your game for 3 days, first day were out 11 hours with 160 stops and another driver took 10-13 stops off me, second day were out 10 hours 140 stops, third day 125 stop and were out 9 hours and everyday getting beat 50-60 clicks. was going to call in friday but decided that i wanted to see what the outcome of this 3 day ride was all about. well i walk in and im on the same route(guy got fired so hes gone for a while) and the sup is following me to the truck and i said your going with me again?, hes all yep. so i :censored2: loose it and head straight to the center managers office to see *** is going on here, he tells me that im getting a babysitter until i scratch or beat the route. so i go into the whole im a utility and this is not my route routine and that this is harassment. he told me that there trying to fix the route and i do frequently, i told him that i told you how to fix it and 3 days should have been more than enough time for the sup to figure it out as well.

anyone ever had this happen or hear of it happening to them?
what should my next move be?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

As a cover driver your rights are somewhat limited. It looks like you will have some company until they turn their focus on someone else.

You actually made the bed that you are now sweating in by not taking your lunch and breaks.

over9five

Staff member
I don't recall the over 9.5 language saying "except for those who don't have routes", so you should file on that every week.