Saturday air rate question

John38

I'm currently a qualified part time cover driver for just over a year now. Recently I just started delivering Saturday air roughly 8am to 12:30-1pm, the air rate is obviously considerably different from my ground rate. My question is my supervisor recently had me pick up a couple ups stores (which I normally do but only take air packages) and a mall pick up. The only difference is this time he had me take ALL packages including ground, since this is the case am I due my ground rate???

Box Ox

So I wouldn't get ground rate for pick ups?

Ground rate for ground pickups was never a thing when I was an air driver. If I were asked to deliver I could get ground rate if I asked for it.

Think there is wording in the National Master suggesting you don't necessarily get ground rate as an air driver if there's a ground driver picking up from the same place the same day and you're just a sweeper.

I haven't heard of UPS Stores being picked up on Saturdays in my area, though. The regular air drivers sweep out weekend volume Monday morning after their NDA is off and the ground driver/PM air driver cycle continues later that day and for the rest of the week.

All that stuff said, if I were a Saturday air driver running the only pickup for that day, and there were plenty of ground packages, I would 100% definitely push for ground rate.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Box, if you are following the regular driver and just closing out the pickup, you would not get the ground rate; however, if you are the only driver being asked to sweep bulk pickups you should get ground rate for the hours that you worked that day.

Box Ox

Box, if you are following the regular driver and just closing out the pickup, you would not get the ground rate; however, if you are the only driver being asked to sweep bulk pickups you should get ground rate for the hours that you worked that day.

100% with ya.

sandwich

The resident gearhead