Saving UPS

brownboxman

When the economy started to tank, we were given PCM's on how UPS had endured the Great Depression and how all UPSers came together and worked hard to help the company through. Ok I am a grown intelligent person, I understood the need to be a part of a plan to help this company compete in a very competitive environment.

Fast forward to present time. UPS last quarter 37% gain! In talking to our center manager he is being told to shoot for 9.2-9.5 hrs per day per driver. If profitability has returned, why the heal to the head of the workforce? UPS is loosing what little credibility it had as an employer. I will never recommend employment at UPS to anyone. The rewards are not there anymore to out weigh the treatment we receive. I am a driver of 22 yrs, I fully understood the job I was signing on for. But the pendulum has swung to far, I fully intend to retire before the next contract in 2013. I feel sorry for those of you who will still need to work into the next contract cycle. Upper management at UPS has made this a different company now. I think there was a certain amount of respect for hourly in years past, and now there is nothing to indicate we have any value what so ever.

My 2 cents. Many of the UPS drivers live a good lifestyle and that lifestlye entails working 9 hrs or more to maintain it. I'm not saying all drivers but, I will bet it is a majority. I know it is tough on the family and the body as I lived through it but, If UPS could magically get every driver off the clock in 8 hrs...do you realize how many would be complaining. Secondly, the 37% gain had very little to do with an increase in domestic volume and, if compared to the same qtr 2 yrs ago domestic volume is probably down.

brownboxman

Just thanks for the reply. But it involves more than hrs, it is an attitude that is unmistakable we are getting now days. Part of it comes from the treatment of center level staff by upper management.

Shifting Contents

Most Help Needed