Seasonal driver?

Ok I have been a seasonal driver a couple of times for the last couple of years, i have also been with the company for 7 years as a pre-loader. Well this summer I have been driving every day for the last 2 months and they plan on using me all the way though the september deadline. My question is isn't their a rule or something in the union book that they have to hire you if you drive 30 days during the seasonal season and then 1 time out side the seasonal that they have to hire you? Or if you drive so many consecutive seasonal seasons in a row? I am tired of not getting hired as a full time driver.

killamjl

If I recall the contract says you have to make 160 reports to work for the year. If you work more then that, they are required to make another full time poistion, but keep in mind it goes by seniority so they dont have to make you a full time driver if someone has been waiting for the position

grgrcr88

No It's not green grocer!
This wil be covered in your local supplement. Depends on your area as to your rights. In the Central it states: No time worked by a new hire in a second or subsequent consecutive free period shall count toward seniority. Any proven abuse of this provision shall be reviewed by the Central Region Co-Chairs.

idrivethetruck

Slow & steady wins the race.
...isn't their a rule or something in the union book that they have to hire you if you drive 30 days during the seasonal season and then 1 time out side the seasonal that they have to hire you? ...
It seems UPS has the attitude lately that they don't have to do anything that's in the contract. They do what they want to, we have to grieve it, and then maybe, someday, something will be done about it.

grgrcr88

No It's not green grocer!
It seems UPS has the attitude lately that they don't have to do anything that's in the contract. They do what they want to, we have to grieve it, and then maybe, someday, something will be done about it.