Seasonal helper in NJ paying union dues...

bonrep

Received no information regarding union membership or dues when hired, filled out no paperwork other than designating a beneficiary in the event of my accidental demise. i am grateful to be working, if only for a short time, and am losing three hours of pay per week for dues..
I would just like to know what I am paying for... any information appreciated...

bonrep

jeez, for ten bucks a month i could have joined a gym and worn cuter clothes...at least i will be in shape and able to move my furniture in the middle of the night when evicted!

superbanki87

I'm a seasonal Driver Helper in NJ as well. Just got my check for last week, worked 24 hours (at a ridiculous 8.50/hr), only to find out I lost a whopping $51 in Union Dues for last week! Double checked my check for the week before that, and lost just over $20 in Union Dues (for 18 hours of work).

What the hell UPS?

I'm a seasonal Driver Helper in NJ as well. Just got my check for last week, worked 24 hours (at a ridiculous 8.50/hr), only to find out I lost a whopping $51 in Union Dues for last week! Double checked my check for the week before that, and lost just over $20 in Union Dues (for 18 hours of work).

What the hell UPS?
That sucks. Helpers make 12.88 an hour where I'm at.

Bubblehead

My Senior Picture
You are paying an initiation fee for the "privilege" of joining the union. IMO it is totally wrong for the union to extort money from seasonal workers.

In my local, if you don't work 30 days, you can apply for a full refund.
That applies year round.
I think that is fair.
I have asked the company many times to include this information to these helpers during their orientation, but they won't.

The other alternative would be for the company to pay them a more appropriate rate of pay, one that makes the job worthwhile.
If your doing bargaining unit work, you must pay dues in a closed shop.

Nobody is being extorted.