seniority issues ?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by cwb425, Aug 29, 2010.

1. cwb425

cwb425 New Member

I am a p/t cover driver. a few guys are starting to go full time. within a year or two I should be full time driver, but I had a few questions about the seniority. if me and another guy have the same seniority date and we both want to be full time drivers who goes first ? I have heard they go by the interview date ??.... I have also heard since he works preload he started at 2 am and i started local sort at 5 pm so he has me beat. any idea of the real way this is done ???

2. Anonymous 10

Anonymous 10 Guest

The date and time of interview

3. hondo

hondo promoted to mediocrity

You need to find out if it is covered in your regional/conference supplement or local rider/addendum/letter of understanding. In my Local it would be decided alphabetically by last name (by past practice, for UPS only). Date/time of interview (or application), or punch-in time of first day worked (training included) are some other valid ways this could be determined. You need to get this answered from your steward/union rep. or UPS HR rep., and they need to be sure enough about it to put it in writing (I'm not saying you need to get in writing, but since this may not have been an issue for several years, give them time to look it up if need be).

4. grgrcr88

grgrcr88 No It's not green grocer!

Here it goes by who punched in first, on the first day of work.

5. CustomerConcern

CustomerConcern New Member

Alphabetical here, if two are hired same day, whoevers last name is first wins.

6. EmerCond421

EmerCond421 Member

Here we go by UPS physical time.

7. over9five

over9five Moderator Staff Member

I believe HERE we flip a coin. Seriously.

8. Sleeve_meet_Heart

Sleeve_meet_Heart making the unreadable unreadabler

In another bldg they went by who was hired by HR/ finished tour, ID , union card.

9. rod

rod retired and happy