Seriously Considering Quitting Smoking?

LongTimeComing

Air Ops Pro
I have been a smoker since I was 19. I started, in part, due to ease of availability. A girlfriend of mine, at the time, had a father who was fairly high up in the ranks of Phillip Morris. I got free carton after free carton.

Then I started working for UPS. It was the only good reason to step out of the truck or away from my area for a quick 'breather'. Besides, in my hub, more people smoked than didn't.

It became part of my routine, and has stayed that way ever since. When I was a driver, I smoked more than ever. Every time I had a bit of a drive between stops, I lit up.

For years, I have been trying to quit. I wanted to quit for myself, for my family, for my newborn daughter. My mom quit after she had lung cancer. My father had many problems related to his smoking. Those things never ended up being enough to convince me to stop. I didn't like the smell. I didn't like feeling self-conscious about smelling that way. I didn't like the financial investment that it demands. But none of that worked.

I've tried the gum, I've tried the patches, I've tried the pills. While they MAY have satiated the chemical crave, I still had the urge and NEED to smoke. The HABIT still wasn't broken.

I imagine I'm not alone, in this. I'm sure many of you want the same thing. I can say that I feel like I have finally found a solution that worked for me.

E-cigs.

If you have yet to try these, they are the closest thing to smoking a cigarette that you will ever get. It not only gives me my 'fix' for the nicotine, but I also get to 'go through the motions' of smoking, so my 'habit' can also be dealt with. And to top it all off, it doesn't smell, it doesn't harm, and it's quite a bit cheaper in the long run.

You get the 'feeling' of inhaling something. You get to see it when you exhale. You hold it in your hand.