Should I cover drive?

BobbyT

So I have been a pre-loader for about 6 months. I started in November-Peak to get some part time work when my wife was laid off. I have a college degree and a decent job in the technology industry. Recently there has been a need for cover drivers, and management has shown interest in recruiting me to drive. They said they would waive the 1yr requirement. I make about the same salary as a cover driver would if they had 40 hours a week, but after I pay out to health care I make much less. I don't get enough hours on pre-load to receive UPS health care. I have always been interested in driving, but I'm nervous about Integrad and the 30 day qualification. I have a few questions about risks and benefits of driving.

1) What is the average yearly income for someone starting as a cover?(18.75 hr)
2) What are drivers often disqualified for?
3) What does it take to make it?
4) Can I complete my 30 in less than 90 days?(before peak)
5) What time do you typically finish your day?
6) How difficult is driver school?
7) Can I trust management?

I would appreciate any advice and answers to one or all questions. I would really like to be a driver, but I don't know if its worth the risk of giving up my current career for one that might not even happen if disqualified. I know it takes more than a 4 year degree and a couple months on pre-load to be a quality driver, I'm used to working 13 hr days by this point, but I feel like I need more information before i sign the dotted line.

Thanks

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
1) don't know. Do the math
2) going too slow,accident. Basically anything in your first 30.
3)hard work and some luck
4)sure why not
5)between 5-10pm
6)hard
7) HELL NO

BakerMayfield2018

Fight the power.
Forget about it. They can not " waive the 1 year requirement". A grievance would be filed and someone else who has senority will get the job. This is a union job son. That's not how we do things around here.

BobbyT