should I have been able to drive

pwithers

Ok, so I am a recent rehire at ups. I moved to a new stare in April, and I was a full time driver at the time. I now work the reload, but was told that I don't have to go back to school to drive if I drive within 1 year. HR told me they just have to turn on my D.O.T. and I'm all set. I found outthat 2 on road supervisors delivered routes today, because no one else was available.....can I grieve this?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

They are not going to just hand you a set of browns and set you loose, even though you have previous experience. Your new mgt team will want to ride with you for at least one day to make sure that you are indeed qualified before putting you on road by yourself.

What would be the end goal of your grievance? Since you would not be eligible for monetary compensation since you are not qualified to drive (in your new center), would you be trying to force them to put you on road?

pwithers

At the very least, the center is also using full timers to deliver Saturday air....even though I have expressed interest multiple times

Wally

BrownCafe Innovator & King of Puns
Screwed_-_2.jpg

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
They are not going to just hand you a set of browns and set you loose, even though you have previous experience. Your new mgt team will want to ride with you for at least one day to make sure that you are indeed qualified before putting you on road by yourself.

What would be the end goal of your grievance? Since you would not be eligible for monetary compensation since you are not qualified to drive (in your new center), would you be trying to force them to put you on road?
Why wouldn't he be qualified to drive in his new center?

barnyard

KTM rider
You're not qualified in the building so they can do whatever they want.

This.