Should I take a Sup job offered to me after only 2 months ?

blckvec

Hey guys, I'm a loader and I've been working at UPS for about 2 months. Just got out of the new six week safety mentoring program last week.We had a hub safety audit this week, I was singled out and apparently made a good impression on one or more individuals. Yesterday I was loading and the Hub Manager ( the same man who hired me ) walks into the trailer and tells me he thinks I should become a sup and whenever I want the job to come see him. He didn't go into specifics, other than saying, "supervision" and I'd start off at 13.50.

I'm so new I don't know what to make of this at all. Any advice from you UPS vets would be appreciated. Thanks.

brownedout

There's alot of questions you need to ask and answer for yourself. Why did you begin working for UPS; where did you look to go within this company? Why is one of the newer employees being offered this position? Why have so many of your co-workers passed this up? One of specifics Hub Manager probably didn't mention is you need to submit a letter of intention to be considered for promotion at UPS. This I believe gets forwarded to HR and higher ups . I'm sure this Hub Manager would have a say in you moving up, but not the only, and definitely not the final. The best advice most of us give here is you have to do what's best for you and your family. Good luck.

Nimnim

The Nim
Do you plan on making a career out of UPS? If so, you're probably better of not going into supervision. The odds of advancing past PT supervision are extremely slim and while the pay may be a boost now in a few years you'll be making more than the average PT supervisor as an hourly.

If you plan on going to another job, then supervision isn't a bad idea. It always looks good on resumes.

Catatonic

Nine Lives