Sorter and Saturday Airs??

I just started with UPS as a Seasonal Driver this season, I have been filling in as a temp since peak. I was told by a Sup that he was going to get me a partime job as a sorter, and a saturday air driver. I felt stupid asking exactly what a sorter and doing Sat airs. Thanks for any info!!

If you have been driving since the new year shouldn't you be on your way to qualifying as a ft driver?
There is no current openings as a FT driver, I was told this will keep me in line for future openings. I have no issues working part time as a sorter and doing Sat air runs, as it well help me drive FT one day. They are currently using me a temp when drivers are on vacation!!

Notcool

What I don't understand is why seasonal drivers are hired off the street and some made ft when part timers like me in the building for many years don't get the jobs?

What I don't understand is why seasonal drivers are hired off the street and some made ft when part timers like me in the building for many years don't get the jobs?
I can understand where you are coming from, I was only hired as driver doing peak season, as it came near to the end I was asked if I wanted to continue to work with UPS part time and a saturday air driver. I have no problem getting in the back of the line working part time, to get the opportunity to drive FT one day.. However if they offer me a ft job I'm certainly going to jump on it. I hope you start driving real soon!!

thessalonian13

I just started with UPS as a Seasonal Driver this season, I have been filling in as a temp since peak. I was told by a Sup that he was going to get me a partime job as a sorter, and a saturday air driver. I felt stupid asking exactly what a sorter and doing Sat airs. Thanks for any info!!