Southern Contract Help

dogs.bite.me

So a junior employee got laid off today for lack of work. There were two less senior employees working yet he got laid off. So this is how it looked

Driver 1 <------ more seniority and laid off
Driver 2 ------ less seniority buy works
Driver 3 ------ less seniority but works

The reason management gave was that the 2 lower senior employees had bid on a route and couldn't be displaced.

However Article 46 Section 5 subsection B 1 & 2 reads:

(B) In the event of layoff of any full-time employee, the affected employee gas the right to exercise his/her seniority in the following manner:

1. Must displace the junior employee within their regular classification.

2. Any other junior full-time employee in another classification or part-time work.

Doesn't that mean he can bump the 2 lower senior drivers even if they have bid?

Any help would be appreciated.

box_beeyotch

You should be able to. I'm a cover driver and I have bumped lower seniority guys off routes I did not know and ran them in the blind before.

box_beeyotch

Had they bid on the route that you bumped them off of?

No they were also a cover driver. I'm not totally sure how that works. If it is a bid route, I don't think you can bump but I've experienced no cases in my center of a lower seniority driver having a route before someone with higher seniority.

dogs.bite.me

No they were also a cover driver. I'm not totally sure how that works. If it is a bid route, I don't think you can bump but I've experienced no cases in my center of a lower seniority driver having a route before someone with higher seniority.
There are 2 lower senority drivers beneath me who bid. I chose not to bid because i know most of the gravy routes and im #2 cover driver so i pretty much get my pick.

Better than being on a city route for 2 years

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.