Stewards Rights??

grgrcr88

No It's not green grocer!
I am a steward in local 795 and have recently come up against some very disturbing things to me! I would love some input from any other stewards or business agents on these issues!!

I am a full time driver which means I am not scheduled to work on Saturdays(obviosly) but we do not have a steward on the premises on saturdays. I decided to stop in one Saturday morning as I was in the neighborhood, and see how things were going. I get to the building and find 4 drivers out in the lot 10 minutes prior to start time moving package cars ariond. When I get to the sup on duty he calls a manager which tells me over the phone that I must leave immediately or they will call 911 to have me removed!! I went ahead and left and filed a grievance under article 4, which has not yet been heard. The company is now saying that stewards are only allowed in the building when they are scheduled to work. Any thoughts?

The next problem is that a center manager has told our stewards that accepting phone calls from members regarding union bussiness while on the clock is going to be grounds for discipline! Any thoughts?

I have also been told that we are under not allowed to fill out grievances on the clock under any circumstance!! Any thoughts??

I have filed grievances on all these items but will not be heard until next week, and my B/A is on vacation.

I would love to hear from some of you guys as to your experiences.

705red

Browncafe Steward
You are allowed to be on property anytime when you are acting in a union capacity.
As long as you are not interfering with any work that is being performed.

You get paid when you are filing grievances and for all time spent presenting them, as a driver i put my time under union time in the diad which is "w".

bigblu 2 you

You are allowed to be on property anytime when you are acting in a union capacity.