Swing Drivers

I've been a FT swing driver for 5 months now after being a pickup driver for 2 years and a CSA for 1...

They have yet to fill my old pup route and consistently schedule me 6:50am through 20:00. With a few split shifts throughout the week... I am averaging 55 hours a week and regardless how much I ask the overwhelming schedule never eases. Granted some will say it's good money but putting up with so much crap from federal express isn't worth it...

As a FT swing driver do you have any say? Obviously I don't want to be fired at this point because like everyone else I have bills however relentless days is taking it's toll. My managers just don't care.... We are understaffed and what do a thing about it. Any feedback would be great, tx

5yearsleft

No, you do NOT have any say. It took me 6 years to get a regular route. I took a $1 an hour pay cut when I did. Best decision I've made.....(so far). At least I have my evenings & weekends back.

Whats in the Box

Yea, you can't say NO as a swing driver-which will start the paper trail: olcc's or warning letters for insubordination. I was a swing for ~10years but was limited to 2 loops(bout 20 routes) at the station I was at and was doable. I recently transferred out to bigger station as a 4x10 wheel and couldn't be better with 4 day weekends monthly. Best is to file a grievance against your manager with HR so you can bid on another route if needed at another station

whenIgetthere

As a swing, they pretty much own you Monday thru Friday (or Tuesday thru Saturday) for a couple of swings at my station. That's the reason I took a route last month. Now I can schedule my life a little better.

Operational needs

Virescit Vulnere Virtus
I've been a FT swing driver for 5 months now after being a pickup driver for 2 years and a CSA for 1...