Switch from night sort to preload good idea?

J.R.26

Hey everyone. I'm new here and had a situation that others may be able to give some input about.

So I've been working at UPS for a couple of months as a part time night sorter. I worked every possible hour I could including sunday sorts and extensions and got over 40 hours every peak week and never called out. I consistently worked the preload loading package trucks and the manager as well as the boss above him said they both want me to switch over to their shift because I was doing really well. Meanwhile, my sort supervisor (who has helped me out alot) also thinks I do a great job and is going to get me the paperwork to try to be a supervisor. I have a bachelors and would like the 3000 a semester to use toward my MBA. If I stayed at UPS (which I want to) I would like to be in management ultimately.

As a sidenote I saw someone in the preload on the line I have been working on get laid off which makes me feel like I may be safer on the preload as far as layoffs if they want to switch me at this time. On my nightshift there are like 5 people hired after me so I don't know if I would get laid off on that shift either.

Switch or no?

Sorry if this was confusing or I rambled too much. Thank you and happy holidays.

Nitelite

Why not ask someone what the status is of possible layoffs? I wouldn't move to preload from night sort. Of course I wouldn't move into management either. Also, our hub only pays 3k a year, not semester. Was that a typo?

J.R.26

you get 1500 a semester normally but supervisors get 3000 a semester. I'm gonna ask HR about this on monday but I figured I'd get as much info as possible.

InTheRed

In my 10 years experience with UPS, the preload is tied to the centers (drivers). There is more visibility by the driving operations and as you may or may not be aware the drivers are the face of the company. With more visibility comes more opportunities.