Teamster national 401(k) tax deferred savings plan

anonymouse

I've been working for UPS for about 3 months and just got the 401(K) plan in the mail. I don't know how long I plan on working for UPS but I don't plan on quitting for no reason, so I was wondering should i sign up anyway? My position is preloader I make around $200 a week.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Yes, you should enroll; however, due to your limited income, you will not be able to set that much aside (at first). What I usually do is increase my contribution rate whenever we get one of our contractual raises. You could start small (less than 5%) and increase it as you go. Your 401k could be a healthy supplement to your pension when that time comes.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
Yes at least do 2% if you do tax deferred you would lose this money to taxes anyway. Also remember there is a ROTH option

Catatonic

Nine Lives
Yes, you should enroll; however, due to your limited income, you will not be able to set that much aside (at first). What I usually do is increase my contribution rate whenever we get one of our contractual raises. You could start small (less than 5%) and increase it as you go. Your 401k could be a healthy supplement to your pension when that time comes.

It is a huge assumption that there will be a pension for a new hire at age 20.
Pensions are dinosaurs of the past and I am very grateful for mine.

slaveofbigbrown