Teamsters Pension Fund to cut Benefits 50%+ as Fund Could Bankrupt Govt. PBGC

Catatonic

Nine Lives

“This is not the union I became part of in the ’70s,”

"Prepare for a loud and possibly black swan style backlash as the union retirees and current members start to bail out of any union promoted investment program and demand the independence to vote on right to work laws in those states where the union exploitation has led to the demise of many a retiree’s nest egg at the most crucial and vulnerable part of their lives."

Last edited:

barnyard

KTM rider
Anyone that took anything more than 8th grade math, should have learned that a guaranteed benefit pension with a shrinking workforce is unsustainable. I graduated HS in 1982 and knew then that pensions would be a thing of the past by the time I got to that point.

If the Teamsters were smart, they would figure out what it would take to convert to a defined contribution and allow individuals to screw themselves out of their pensions.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
Anyone that took anything more than 8th grade math, should have learned that a guaranteed benefit pension with a shrinking workforce is unsustainable. I graduated HS in 1982 and knew then that pensions would be a thing of the past by the time I got to that point.

If the Teamsters were smart, they would figure out what it would take to convert to a defined contribution and allow individuals to screw themselves out of their pensions.
Individual buyouts of years that are in the CS fund that would still count towards overall retirement from the UPS fund maybe for those still working here to eliminate UPS future liabilities that's written in the contract?

Catatonic

Nine Lives
Imagine how wealthy the retired drivers would be if UPS had put the pension payments into a 401k for each Teamster employee!

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.