Thinking about joining ups just have a few questions

Lamikke

I'm a diesel mechanic living in Tennessee and my wife and I have been thinking about relocating to Phoenix. Are there any mechanics that can answer a few questions for me? How many shops are there in the phoenix area? Where are they located? Are all of the shops the same shifts? Can you start at one shop and transfer to another and keep your pay rate? Any info will certainly help thanks!

104Feeder

Phoenix Feeder
Every location has a package car shop, Phoenix has a trailer and tractor shop. Tempe, Mesa, and Estrella are the other locations. The Airport also has mechanics that work on the tugs and dock equipment, but I am unsure if those are contract or UPS employees.

You can transfer to other locations through the bid language, remaining at your new location for a minimum of 1 year and going to the bottom of the seniority list.

Pay rate seems to be by progression, and I'm seeing a 48 month progression from $18.75 to the current top rate of $35.27 but it's not entirely clear to me that there is a progression so if I find myself at the shop I will try to remember and ask. Pay and benefits are retained when you transfer, just the seniority is affected.

There are pay differentials for shifts starting after 4 pm and midnight ($.20) and midnight to 5:30 ($.25). If your shift runs into another bracket you get the pay differential unless you start before noon in which the whole shift does not receive a pay differential.

Last month or so I remember them saying we were hiring mechanics. UPSjobs. com probably has the most current info.

Lamikke