Thinking of Applying to UPS

Equinto

Hi! I graduated from George Mason University with a degree in English. I work at the university (for Pitney Bowes) as a courier/mailman. I like the job, it's fun. I do however want to earn a little bit more money. I noticed that the UPS guys that I deal with are cool and seem to like their jobs. What should I know about applying to UPS, etc?

RockyRogue

Agent of Change
Hi! I graduated from George Mason University with a degree in English. I work at the university (for Pitney Bowes) as a courier/mailman. I like the job, it's fun. I do however want to earn a little bit more money. I noticed that the UPS guys that I deal with are cool and seem to like their jobs. What should I know about applying to UPS, etc?

For one, its VERY hardwork. Put it this way: I went from 240 to 210 in 3 months. I thoroughly enjoyed my first stint with UPS as a part-time inside employee and my subsequent seasonal stints as a helper. That having been said, the pay isn't exactly where it prolly should be. Benefits are truly world class. It depends on the management team of the individual building how much you'll like them. I had 5 or 6 managers during my first stint. I had nothing but the highest regard and respect for most of them in addition to actually being able to semi-trust them. I knew a few that would scream and yell at their employees and I had one that lied through his teeth on an almost nightly basis. Anyway, don't let some of these posters turn you away from this Company. Its truly better retail. Don't even get me STARTED about food service!!!! PM me and I'll see if I can answer specific questions. RockyRogue

RockyRogue

Agent of Change
Don't do it. Friends don't let friends work for brown. Unless it is only temporary.

Hey, Browned, I BEGGED my folks to send my brother up there. They finally caved. He's a supervisor now. I get the impression from talking to my folks and him that he's one of the better liked sup's, not to mention competent.