threatened to be killed on the job

gray squirrel

I am a delivery driver in a very remote area. I have had two "run ins " with a young man on my area. This man has threatened me bodily harm, and the second time threatened to kill me. I explained everything to my supervisor, and he instructed me to contact the sheriff's office. I did so, and they had me come in and write out a statement. The deputy said he would talk to the Prosecuter, and have menacing charges filed on this person, and he would have to go to court. This, of course will anger the person that much more. After the court hearing, the deputy said they will file a restraining order. The sheriff's department is very small, and very far from my delivery location. Response time would be 15-25 minutes. What rights do I have to defend myself? I am a ccw permit holder, but do not carry on the job of course. I am not fearful of a physical confrontation with this person, but I can't outrun a bullet. This person has been in prison, and has a very troubled past. He is a known drug user, and is presently in a home that has been raided for drug activity. It is known in our area as a crack house. I feel like a sitting duck. It's not if something bad will happen, it is when. Any suggestions?

stevetheupsguy

sʇǝʌǝʇɥǝndsƃnʎ
If you fear that much for your safety, you have 2 choices.

1: Switch routes, tell supe you fear for your life.
2: Carry that weapon, and be prepared to use, it if you have to.

How did this all come about, anyways?

upandcomer

I would say number two risks you getting fired from your job.

How about also working towards no longer delivering to that address? I know that can be done. Number one makes the most sense though.

squirlygirly