Thrift Plan/UPS stock-10 percent tax?

JohnnyPension

I have my 55/25 from Local 804 and am taking the money and going to sunnier climes. I know when you are 55 and retire from the company the 401K and annuity monies are exempt from the 10 percent tax penalty. Is the money from the old UPS thrift plan that I rolled over into UPS stock at the mercy of the 10 percent penalty?

Soon to be...
JohnnyPension

brett636

Being that I wasn't working for UPS during the thrift plan days I cannot say this for sure, but I do prepare taxes for a living so here is my advice. The 10 percent penalty is only applied to early withdrawals of retirement savings before age 59.5. If you were collecting the earnings and or dividends from the plan while you let the money sit in stock then taking the money out will not hit you with a 10% tax penalty, you will only owe taxes on growth of the holdings while you held them. Basically its what you sold the stock for minus your basis, or what you paid for it.

As far as withdrawing the money from the 401k, I believe you will be hit with a 10% tax penalty on that if the money was deposited pre-tax and you are not age 59.5. There may be a special rule about retiring and withdrawing the money early, but considering I do about 200+ tax returns per year I have not run into a situation where the penalty does not apply unless you are taking the money out to buy a house or fund an education.

sendagain

If you rolled your thrift plan into UPS stock, then you are in an IRA which will be penalized if withdrawn before age 59 1/2.

JohnnyPension

Thanks for the info. A few of us are retiring at 55/25 and saw at the IRS site under:

401(k) Resource Guide - Plan Sponsors - General Distribution Rules

the following: