To all Veteran drivers

gotmike88

Hi guys,
this is my first post here. I have been a midnight sorter for 8 years and just took a full time driving gig at a different hub and I'm almost done with my training, yet I feel like I still have so much to learn. The fact that In my 8 years of being a sorter I have had very little experience being around package cars and i am still in the dark about how they are loaded and organized. one of the students in my training class had an accident and the ordeal cut into a lot of my valuable class time.

I'm wondering if anyone can offer me advice on the best way to make a good impression on my center when I get there or perhaps share any wisdom that I should know about in general.
I hear it's pretty tough to make it through those 40 days so any insight would be greatly appreciated

thanks,
Mike

superballs63

Well-Known Troll
Troll
Well, I would hardly call myself a veteran driver (full time for 3+years).

The first 30 days (maybe its 40 where you are?) aren't THAT bad. No accidents, or major service issues and you'll be fine there. The trucks are organized by shelf/section. When you get EDD in the diad in the morning it will have the list of all your stops for the day. It will also have a corresponding number telling you (in theory) where each certain package is located on the shelf of the truck. Once you start driving you will more than likely communicate with your loader who would tell you anywhere other than the correct spot that he loaded large packages OR bulk stops.

Take it easy, don't run, don't worry about "numbers"

You have one mouth and two ears. Use them in that ratio.

Be smooth, not fast. Fast will cause you to make mistakes. The time you waste correcting them will end up making you slower (worse numbers on the report) than if you go a bit slower and be smooth during the day and do everything correctly the first time.