Top Pay Question

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by nystripe96, May 23, 2013.

1. nystripe96

nystripe96 Active Member

I've been working PT for two years and always thought that top rate was the max yearly salary a UPS employee can achieve. I never knew that raises continue regardless of achieving top rate. What is the max salary any of you have heard a union employee make? Could it really approach $50+/hr with enough years? I feel kinda dumb for not knowing this, but you live you learn I guess

2. Bagels

Bagels Family Leave Fridays!!!

Top rate is the wage FT employees earn after they've completed their progression; the general wage increase increases top rate each year.

There is no top rate for PT employees. PT employees start out a finite wage, then go through a "progression." After they've completed progression, they earn the same general wage increases -- stacked on their current wage, unfortunately, as FT. The progression requirement is waived when PT stay during a contract year, although they're guaranteed the minimum standards set by the progression scale.

3. pretender

pretender Active Member

I heard that by 2018, drivers will be making $100K...

4. Bagels

Bagels Family Leave Fridays!!!

Unlike most people on here, who calculate their pay based upon their paystubs & W-2, I have a calculator and know how to use it. (Actually, I just type in top rate * 40 * 52 into Google.)

5. UpstateNYUPSer

UpstateNYUPSer Very proud grandfather.

By the end of this contract a FT driver working very little overtime will gross $80K.

6. Pickles

Pickles Member

​For Triples pay here it would be about $37.20 per hour by the end of the contract.

7. ibleedbrown

ibleedbrown Active Member

so basically u will be making 80k. i would take it lol but something tells me if i make my 40 days i will be forced to work overtime. guys in my building average 10 hours overtime a week. oh well 100k sounds good to my family and i!!!!

8. teamsterdan

teamsterdan Member